MGCC National Meetings

The MG Car Clubs of Australia hold a National Meeting  over the Easter break each year.
This meeting is hosted by a different club each year.


This trophy dates back to the first National Meeting held in 1970 at Sydney.
At that meeting, the Sydney MG dealers donated a trophy, which was presented to the Centre achieving the highest aggregate points score.
In 1971 the second National Meeting was held in Melbourne. Tragically, during the speed event at Calder, John Wratten sustained fatal injuries in an accident driving a MG P-type.
John was Secretary of the Victoria Centre and actively involved in the organisation of that National Meeting.
At the delegates' conference following the meeting, they were so moved, it was decided (with the approval of the Sydney MG dealers) that their trophy be renamed the John Wratten Memorial Trophy.
Over the ensuing years, the scoring method has been modified by various “fudge factors” to give all Centres an equal opportunity for success.
The fudge factor takes into account each MG Centre’s membership numbers and the distance travelled.


In the early 1950’s, Lord Nuffield commissioned and presented to the MG Car Club UK, four prestigious trophies, in order that each year the home centre might recognise the achievements of overseas centres in various regions – Europe, United States, South Africa and Oceania.
After 1960 the Cup disappeared and with the demise of Nuffield/BMC, the competition for this trophy ceased. The trophy was found and returned in 1995.
While attending “MGs Down Under” in Perth in 1995, MG Car Club Chairman, Mike Hawke, and Overseas Director, Alan Kingwell, agreed that the Oceania Trophy would be reserved for Australia’s MG Car Clubs only, and that the Australian Clubs would decide the method of presentation.
After nationwide consultations, it was agreed that the trophy would be awarded on the basis of Concours and Motorkhana results. Each club is represented by 2% of their nominated ownership numbers with a minimum of five and a maximum of twenty used for averaging. The total points scored by each club’s 2% is totalled and then averaged with the highest average the winner


A promotional poster was produced for each National Meeting.
An almost complete gallery of all the posters may be viewed here.


The table at left has links to results and programmes for many old National Meetings.
Thanks to Peter Rayment in Queensland, we have results for most of them, and these will be made available as we get them massaged into a suitable format for download.
A "View" link is to a PDF you can read online.
A "Download" link is to a ZIP file, which will often contain EXCEL copies of the data.
If you have access to the printed programmes for any that are not listed here, please contact
The original files used to produce the programmes would be much appreciated, but even scans from a printed copy would be useful.

Modification history:

  • 17-Dec-2013 Added 2011 Newcastle results.
  • 15-Apr-2015  Added 2015 Results and Programme.
  • 6-Apr-2016 Added 2016 Results and Programme.
  • 22-Apr-2016 Added 1970 Results and Programme. Thanks to MGCCQ for that.
  • 6-Apr-2017 Added 1974 Melbourne, 2003 Shepparton, and 2008 Tamworth. Thanks to Peter Rayment.
  • 27-Apr-2017 Added 2017 winners, and 2020 venue.
  • 16-Feb-2018 Added 2017 Programme
  • 4-Apr-2018 Added 2018 Programme
  • 18-Apr-2018 Added 2018 results, and many old Natmeet logos.
  • 24-Apr-2018 Added 2013 Programme. Tentative location for 2021 is "Alice Springs"
  • 5-Mar-2018 Added 1971, 1972, 1973, 1975, and 1976 results
  • 23-Apr-2019 Added 2019 Result, removed 2021 venue, added 2022 venue.
  • 16-Jun-2019 Added final 2019 results.
  • 2-Mar-2020 Added 2021 location
  • 30-Mar-2020 Changed 2021 location, added 2023 location
  • 4-Apr-2021 Added 2024 hosts.
  • 25-Jun-2021 Updated location for 2022 to "Lake Macquarie"
  • 29-Jun-2021 Added logos for 2000, 2001 and 2007
  • 30-Jun-2021 Added Results for 1990-1994
  • 1-Jul-2021 Added Results for 1995-1999, 2000-2002, 2004-2007
  • 2-Jul-2021 Added Results for 1980-1989
  • 3-Jul-2021 Added Results for 1977-1979
  • 30-Aug-2021 Corrected link to 1978 "view" results. Restored missing pages in 2007 PDF file.
  • 8-Sep-2021 Added 1980 Gold Coast logo
  • 14-Sep-2021 Added 1982 Canberra and 1985 Newcastle logos
  • 9-Dec-2021 Changed location of 2023 meeting to "Adelaide".
  • 2-Jan-2022 Corrected 1976 location from "Hobart" to "Launceston".  Various corrections to 1978 results.
  • 25-Jan-2022 Added 1986 programme, thanks to Greg Mandeson.
  • 18-Apr-2022 Added 2023 logo
  • 22-Apr-2022 Added 2022 programme and link to provisional results
  • 25-May-2022 Added 2022 final results
  • 3-May-2023 Added 2023 Final results & programme, and 2025 venue is Wodonga.